Starting From Scratch

March 31, 2013

It really is bizarre that I’m here. Blogging. Not that I don’t have a right to do it, but because I’m clearly at the start of the journey (or the bottom of the hill lol)  It’s only been in the past year that I’ve:  used the shared drive at school, that I could create a folder, that I use copy/paste regularly, that I figured out what “embedding” means.

In some ways, I’ve come a long distance already. But it’s daunting when you join a community and see people who leaders in their fields, have been doing this for years, created some of the programs you use! But we all had to start somewhere, right?  I think I’ve learned more in the last week than I have in the last year. Just being exposed to the right people at the right time is a learning opporutnity. But it can be overwhelming. The programs are awesome! The community is ready to share! The people are willing to help! But I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew!

I want to belong to the online community – I feel it will enhance my teaching. I want  to try all of these things. However, if I try them all, I likely won’t be very good at any. Baby steps, one at a time. I have a class page operational. I have a few widgets that work and that I know how to work.

So why would I potentially humiliate myself professionally by publicly stating I don’t know how to do this? Because I really feel this is how I’ll learn. (plus I really don’t think anyone will read this – I’ve seen blogs on here that were last touched in 2008) This is the starting point. I hope to look back on this, in 6 months, in 1 year, in 2 years and say wow, I was so tentative and afraid to enrol. Now look at me! I’m presenting, I’m using, I’m sharing, I have something valuable to contribute.

If you are reading this and you are at the start of your journey as well, Hi! I’m right here with you! Embrace the technology, find what works for you, share it with people. I’m sure anything that I do will have already been done before, but just as likely, someone is just joining the community and hasn’t seen it yet either! It’s the beginner’s blog. And a new one should start every year.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

