My First Twitter Chat

April 28, 2013

I did it! I didn’t just lurk. I didn’t just sit back and think, I don’t know what I’m doing, so I better not. (I still didn’t know what I was doing, but threw caution to the wind) I participated in my first twitter chat! #cdnedchat.  I could tell I was heavily outgunned by the contributors, but I figured I can’t move anywhere if I don’t take any steps.  I have only been on twitter for about one month. I have only been using online platforms for my classes for just over a year. I should state rather loudly, I’M A TECHNO PHOBE!

I took a one afternoon pd session 2 years ago, just to look at see what people do in their classrooms. Never did I think I’d become one of those teachers.  I didn’t even know how to copy and paste things into documents. Seriously. I didn’t.  My first year, I just set up a google class page. I put a few cute widgets on it and basically let it sit there. This year, I upped my game and made all my students get google accounts and start to hand things in online. I posted assignments online, links, videos and general course tidbits. Progress.  Last month, my mentor allowed me to go to my first conference with tech-educators. WOW! What an eye opening experience. I’m definitely a baby in this group, but I’m excited to start learning and trying new things.  So now, I’ve opened up a few accounts, tried out a few apps, starting blogging and tonight contributed in a twitter conversations. Air high five 0/

I look forward to learning more, particpating more and putting into practice all these things I’m only just now learning about. We all start somewhere, and I finally made it to the starting line!

Leave a Reply

