The Need for Meaningful Communication Between Staff

Yesterday’s entry seemed a little negative and I promised myself I wouldn’t start blaming people (or myself) for my frustrations, but rather look for solutions or reach out for help.  Today, then, I must put more positive ideas or search for solutions to what I deemed was a problem yesterday.

My concern was the seemingly “phantom” email addresses that I have for my online students. It seemed particularly problematic with my out of board students.  I had written that since I am on a computer frequently, sending an email is the fastest and easiest way for me to correspond with guidance staff or teachers who are the contact for their students.

As I reflected on past entries, I mentioned meaningful feedback, meaningful connection, meaningful interaction with my students. Perhaps I need to look at meaningful communication with staff members.  Ultimately, we are all working towards the same goal: for the student to be successful. I am responsible to try to make this happen in many ways. I try to deliver content, help explain, give assignments, communicate and give feedback.

I think there can also be responsibility on the home school end as well. I don’t want to feel like I am alone. Having a “live” contact address could help. Having a “live” contact, too. I know, I know, we are all busy, but in face-to-face schools, don’t we find time to commincate about our students?  I’m not suggesting we email everyday, or phone, because often (even in my face to face classes) there are no major issues, things run smoothly. However, if an issues does arise with attendance, or with work quality, or with explanations, or technical difficulties, or at exam time, proctoring, it would be nice to have established a line of communication.

I know schools take education seriously. I know they take online education seriously. I think with a little more communication, we could establish a better link between home schools and the online teachers for their students. I think this would ultimately lead to more students staying enrolled in online classes, remaining engaged in online learning, finding success in these courses.

Leave a Reply

