The Realization that I’m Not Teaching

April 16, 2013

So I had a realization yesterday as I attended a D.I. session. I’m boring. As an e-learning teacher that is. (no comment from the peanut gallery about my outside the learning classroom!)  As we were discussing DI strategies, I went in mainly thinking of how I could improve my face to face classes. Then I realized I  had some quality blended teachers (shout out Heather Touzin!) in the room who used these strategies with D2L.

I have dropped the ball. I mean totally. I have been working and thinking and creating things which I thought I needed for student engagement. The “eye candy” as I called it earlier. I completely missed the boat.  I’m not delivering daily lessons in my elearning class. I have been treating it as a 7 day window class, not a 5 day class. I do not “give a lesson” everyday, because I was of the mindset that its quite possible my students don’t log in for 5 consecutive days.  I have been worried that delivering a lesson everyday would overwhelm my students and have them balk more at the online platform.  I was worried that if they hadn’t logged in for 2 or 3 (or more days) they might see the pile up of lessons and just give up.

Here is the bottom line: I’ve only been opening or releasing content. I have no excuse, I should be either delivering the lesson from the course or changing the course and really make it mine to deliver MY lesson.  Don’t get me wrong, I do give instruction, explain the assignment, give due dates, but I have really failed at teaching this course.  But, since I said I cannot focus on my negatives, I need a game plan

.

First, it’s not all bad. I do have students that do log in everyday, that add to discussions, that upload their work and comment on my questions. I haven’t completely failed the whole class.  Second, my discovering of these so-called “eye candy”apps have at least been able to get my students to the page more often than they might.  Third, the eye candy is important because if they show up more often, I can teach more often and not worry about students feeling overwhelmed and staying perpetually behind.  Fourth, I can spruce up the content. I have been hesitant to change the standard course, but with the approval of my mentor, I should start to upload more of my own work.  Fifth, once I start to upload my own course content, I will feel much more comfortable delivering daily lessons for the students.  and Finally (sixth) After I start improving my game, I can figure out a way to add some DI strategies into this classroom.

Wow, I’m embarrassed. I should know better. Well, once you are at the bottom, there is no place to go but up. So, I better start climbing.

Leave a Reply

