Where’s the Gravol?

Wow. I recently submitted a proposal to speak at a local digital symposium. To my utter surprise, I was accepted. This is where the nausea kicks in.

What started as a whim and likely a light hearted suggestion by my mentor is suddenly becoming very real. I attended my first conference earlier this year and absolutely loved it. I learned so much and was excited to try out all the new stuff I learned.

At the same time, I thought, wow, I really want to be someone who would be knowledgeable enough to be asked to present. (to clarify, no one sought me out – I submitted without solicitation) While I am not so “knowledgeable” as to be requested, I am learning in leaps and bounds from where I was even just one year ago.

I still have lots to learn, but am so excited to present. And sick to my stomach. My topic is specifically geared to beginners, of whom I still consider myself a member. I have learned that as a beginner, so much information is thrust upon you it can feel overwhelming.

My first time working through an online/e-learning course, my learning curve was steep. I was not only learning how to operate the platform, but also the course material !! (It was a course I had not taught before). I didn’t even realize the mistakes I was making! Maybe ignorance is bliss, because I signed up again for another one!

My presentation is called, “My Class Page is Up – Now What?” It’s just meant as some ideas and tidbits for those of us new to online teaching. It in NO WAY focuses on content, using the platform, integrating tools or the like. It is geared towards getting to the students TO THE PAGE. 

I guess in a way, I’m the window dressing or the icing on the cake. I don’t want to diminish this role, though. Curb appeal can be very swaying. Eye candy is delightful. Guilty pleasure is something with which we are familiar.

I am very nervous. I don’t want to be a laughing stock. I don’t want to embarrass myself or my mentor and board. I want to just give a little nudge to those hesitant to try. I want to be that bottom rung on the ladder – the stepping stone. And I’m ok with that.

Leave a Reply

