Progress Report

It’s been about 7 months since I joined twitter, started a blog and basically upped my game in the technology department. It’s amazing what one conference can do! Immediately after attending my first conference, I joined and starting following educators and leaders in the technology teaching field. I joined eLo, D2L and community and attempted writing this blog. (it started in a different format, but has arrived here)

I have felt braver trying out new programs and apps, definitely moving outside my comfort zone. I’m still a pen and paper type of gal. In an effort to keep current or at least moving forward, I have tried using more programs and reading more uses for things. (like who knew a calculator could do more than just add?)

I have encountered many frustrations along the way. I don’t quite grasp many of these technologies right away and spend time trying to figure them out. Note: I don’t seem to have enough time to do it! I don’t quite have the background and resources I need to use many of these programs to their fullest potentials.  I move in baby steps.

The world it has opened has been a huge learning experience. I’m learning things I didn’t even knew existed before. I’m seeing ways I can try to change my way of teaching and reaching students. I’m at least seeing what COULD be done and when I get brave enough, I know things I can try. It’s much better than feeling stagnant and not knowing what to do or where to go.

Overall, my progress report: turtlish. I’m moving slowly. I’m taking a lot in. But, as they say, slow and steady wins the race!

Leave a Reply

