A Kid in a Candy Store

As I’m trying to finalize my exams for the end of the semester, I’ve been mulling over all my options for putting them together.  I was thinking about all the tools I’ve been told about and been suggested to use. Inevitably (and oddly?) I start thinking about how I’ll change/upgrade my lessons and try to innovate a little more next year.

I found myself feeling like a kid in a candy store. Only, not in such a way that you might think. I found myself looking a whole lot of options, all good, all tempting, all exciting. Unfortunately for me, I’m that kid who would just look and look and look and have a hard time making that decision. See, I want something, but with too many options I don’t want to miss out on anything.  It’s also me at Baskin Robbins:  31 flavours, and I almost alway pick the exact same one. Too many options hurts my head and I default to what I know will work.  I’m there, I’m in the store, I want to choose, I just seem to always stay in my comfort zone.

Yesterday I wrote about finding a renewed interest in mentorship and getting on the correct path to help me reach my goals.  Today I’m thinking about choosing the tools and vehicles to start that journey.  My favourite prof in Uni gave me feedback on a paper and said I need to think about whether, “I give a lot about a little, or a little about a lot”. He clearly preferred I give a lot about a little. Focus my energy, discover important facts and be the expert.  I find myself wondering with technology if I should still think this way, or branch out. What do you do? 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. bgrasley says:

    I’m in the “both” camp: I know a little about a lot of things, but I try to be expert at some things. If that makes me more likely to choose a tool because I know I’ll use it well, that’s a fair reason. But I also need to consider what my students need, and to make sure that my comfort zone/biases aren’t unfairly limiting them. Empowering students with choice is really important.

    Like

    1. evathompson says:

      Thank you for your reply. I should be happy that there are enough choices to decide what works best! If I feel comfortable working with it, the students will most certainly pick up on it and likely end up teaching me things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

